Special Education » STARS Adult Transition

STARS Adult Transition

Specialized Transition Adult Resources & Skills (STARS) - Adult Transition Program

STARS

The STARS Program combines classes and community experiences to help students with various developmental disabilities, who received a high school certificate of completion, ages 18 through 22, learn the skills necessary for a more productive independent life. The STARS Program serves young adults with special needs and provides a program that develops young adults who are positive, productive, and contributing members of society. Students in the STARS program demonstrate mastery of a continuum of skills based on their unique level of ability with the goal of successfully transitioning to adult living. These skills are developed using community based Instruction in addition to classroom instruction.

Target skill areas include:

  • Social
  • Communication
  • Mobility
  • Independent Living
  • Academic
  • Technology
  • Pre-employment
  • Employment
 

STAFF

Petra Briones, Specialist

626-935-8211

pbriones@rowlandschools.org 

 

Katie Desai, School Psychologist

(626) 935-8205

kdesai@rowlandschools.org 

Cristina Ruiz, Education Specialist

(626) 935-8222

cruiz@rowlandschools.org 

Joe Bonaventura, Education Specialist

(626) 935-8221

jbonaventura@rowlandschools.org 

Olivia Pallares, Education Specialist

(626) 935-8223 

opallares@rowlandschools.org 

Dave Koza, Education Specialist

(626) 935-8214

dkoza@rowlandschools.org 

Nancy Tsubokowa, Speech and Language Pathologist

(626) 854-8520 x3631

ntsubokowa@rowlandschools.org